Adventure (Part One)

Adventure (1).png

Last week I complained about not going on enough road trips.

“My life is boring. I’m so busy, I don’t have enough time for adventures. I have to go to school and do homework, I have to go to work, I have to practice the piano. Ugh, I don’t like being an adult, can I go back to first grade?”

So I’ve been trying my best to relive wvery other adventure I’ve ever had. I go through the pictures and the souvenirs, trying to remember every detail. The hikes, the mountains, the waterfalls, the people, the museums.

I miss it.

I miss going off into the unknown, experiencing something new and exciting.

My every day life has become a monotonous routine. Wake up, go to school. Get home, get ready for work. Make subs, come home, and do a few hours worth of homework. Sleep and repeat. It gets old  real fast.

Today was a normal day.I went to school. I had the same classes, the same teachers, I laughed with my friends. I tried my best to stay awake in Chemistry and pay attention in Geometry.

Then one phone call changed everything. My grandma was having heart surgery that weekend and my mom wanted to be there.

“Do you want to go to Greenville?”

I didn’t even have to think and in 4 hours I board a plane for the very first time. 

In 5.5 hours I have a two-hour layover in New York City.

In 8 hours I walk into a hospital to see my grandma before she has heart surgery.

Today I do something brand new.

Today I see the city of my dreams from the sky.

Today I am exhausted and sleep deprived but excited for what comes next.

I’m a bundle of nervous anticipation and excitement.

I’m excited for flying… but nervous for what will happen when I land.


Leave a Reply

