A Letter to My Best Friends

(in honor of Tolkien Reading Day)

A Letter to My Best Friends.png

Sometimes we get busy. I get distracted, and tired, and so do you. We laugh at each other and make jokes, and I often find myself admiring our friendship. But I never tell you how important it actually is to me.

Our little squad reminds me of Frodo and Sam.

But since I’m pretty sure neither of you get that reference, let me explain.

Frodo Baggins was in charge of the ring to rule them all. It needed to be destroyed in Mount Doom, a fiery volcano. So he began his journey with a wizard, a man, a dwarf, and a few other hobbits. 

But most importantly, he had Samwise Gamgee. 

Sam was Frodo’s gardener, but they were best friends. They were the kind of friends that could communicate without words.

Their trip to Mount Doom was not a vacation. They fought against goblins and orcs and giant spiders. Frodo became selfish because of the powerful effect the ring had on him. He wasn’t always easy to be around, but Sam never left. Sam could have turned back any time he wanted. He could have gone back to the Shire to enjoy a hearty second breakfast. He could have been in his comfy little hobbit hole, surrounded by everyone and everything he loved.

Frodo told him to turn back, but he refused every single time.

Sam willingly walked into the dark fires of Mordor without a second thought. That’s how much you mean to me.

When it seems like my life is a jumbled mess, you guys are there. When I’m sad, you make me laugh. When I’m mad, you offer me your shoulder for my own personal punching bag. I love our conversations in study hall when no one else is in the room. I love that you accept my weirdness. I love our inside jokes. I love that you’re there for me on the bad days, not just the good ones.

We are not Frodo Baggins or Samwise Gamgee…

But I would follow you to Mount Doom without a second thought.

Because you are the good in this world, and that’s worth fighting for.

Because I would be there with you at the end of all things.

Leave a Reply

